Home > 09/22/10 ADOBE DAY > ADOBE DAY

ADOBE DAY

ADOBE DAY
Academy Award winning VFX artist Mike Kanfer and Adobe’s leading demo artist Karl Soule
showcase the latest innovations in CS5 including the new Cineform 3D stereo plug-in for
Premiere Pro.
Categories: 09/22/10 ADOBE DAY
  1. September 23, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    The Adobe presentation has me nearly convinced that I need to buy one of the CS5 packages for my home computers. It’s hard for software to be impressive these days, considering how much we’re able to do already. Either they presented some features to sound more impressive than they are, or Adobe has actually made something special with CS5.

    I got excited when they showed off the content-aware fill and smart selection in Photoshop. Even if I have no reason to use them, I really want to play around with them. When I actually need them, they’ll either take care of a huge annoyance or let me do something I never would have bothered taking the time to do.

    Because I mostly focus on Maya work, I use Photoshop, Premiere, and After Effects less than a fully 2D or live-action filmmaker might. When I need to do editing, I don’t do enough to see a difference between Premiere and FCP. Not having a Mac at home, I use Premiere anyway, so the CS5 update makes me feel even better about it. I think the rebuilt playback engine of Premiere and the new 64-bitness of After Effects are the most immediately useful and practical features Mike and Karl talked about.

    I would have liked to see CS5 do something about sound editing in After Effects. If it weren’t so clunky, I’d be comfortable doing everything in there. I was also hoping they would have talked about any updates to the 3D (polygonal, not stereoscopic) features of Photoshop for texturing purposes… it was so convenient in CS4 compared to the alternatives, but it had a very “early version” feel to it.

    Overall, the presentation was informative and interesting. Of course we’re all filmmakers of some sort, so nothing was completely irrelevant. For the next Adobe Day during a seminar class, it would be awesome if they tailored it even more toward animators.

  2. Cecilia De Jesus
    September 25, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    I agree with Dan that the presentation was really impressive. I really wish they had made those changes when I was doing all my photo editing in my graphic design program! That content aware fill was great. I recall one of my classmates spending several hours to achieve the same effect.

    I only wish they had discussed the new version of Flash. I realize they had a massive amount of information they wanted to get through so it may have been impossible. I just wonder what improvements they may have made to that particular program since I use that frequently.

    I’m very grateful that we got the chance to have the representatives give that presentation. It’s so difficult to keep up with the advancing technology because it changes every year or so. I know feel more comfortable and excited to explore the new CS5 package and use it to its full potential.

  3. Gregory Jones
    September 26, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    I’m glad to see Adobe really step up to the plate with this latest release. I think at this point, Adobe has the package to beat and for a while that wasn’t the case for a lot of professionals. Strong real-time performance is critical for getting the best quality results and the more we can do without having to wait for renders, the more we can let our ideas lead our projects and not the limitations of time and software ability. We’re seeing multiple layers of HD with numerous stacked effects and native h.264 editing without a single hitch or delay. That’s how I want to make my films. Now that we have access to 64-bit systems and 64-bit pipelines, we can really work like 21st century digital artists. Awesome.

    • September 29, 2010 at 10:18 am

      I completely agree!

  4. September 27, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Some of the new tools in Photoshop and After Effects are very interesting which make some hard works to be so easy in Adobe CS5. The puppet tool in Photoshop in interesting, which brings us more creative possibilities for photo works. Also, I like the Rotoscoping tool in After Effects, it makes that work so much easier. I assume we may not need green screen any more in the future. It seems whatever your background is, Adobe can make the decision for you to isolate your character. It’s a amazing tool. I feel I life in the future.

  5. Linda Liao
    September 27, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Truthfully, the Adobe lecture was the most formal talk I’ve experienced at seminar. There were many additions to the bezier tools in Photoshop and there was extensive coverage of the Premiere software. I enjoyed getting hearing from the company and its representatives. The demonstrations were very straightforward and selective to the specific needs that USC demands from 2D and editing software.

  6. Yang Liu
    September 27, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I like how adobe develped a lot of interesting and innovative tools for animators every time when they do CS#, and these tools are not just trying to reduce the effort, but also offer more ways and possibilties to create our creative project. I really appreciate how they improve the compatibility between photoshop, after effect and premiere, as it will be very helpful for all my projects that are sometimes very complicated. I hope they will keep working on it for a faster performance, although it’s already been so great.

    I guess the presentation for the “ROTO Brush” was the most impressive for everyone, but I still think there are problems for the fact that I used it before. When I worked on my friend’s HD footage, I got “Roto brush” funtioning extremely slowly when skiping one frame to the other. The Roto brush requires that the “viewing resolution” to be FULL(which is always too heavy for computers to load in realtime), so it can calculate exactly pixle by pixle. You can still reduce the resolution to work on, but when you do the rendering, the Rotoscope pass does not match the full resolution at all. Therefore, Roto brush now is great and fast only for SD video or HD on a very high performance computer…Although it seemed reducing a lot of work when I first saw it, it didn’t really save my time when I did the roto work for my friend. However, I believe Adobe is going to improve it later since this is just the first version released. The 3D tool in photoshop was really bad when they released it back in CS3, but now it gets much better and easier for us to use.

    I still love using Adobe, just because they are always thinking about helping the artists, instead of earning money from them.( I guess they are the same…but there’s still a difference)

  7. Ian McCormack
    September 27, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Happy Adobe Day! I really like seeing what is possible with software that I have access to. It always inspires me to add more to my work.

    With every release of After Effects, Premiere or Photoshop, if they add one feature that I could use, I consider it successful. This year, they did not dissapoint. They didn’t overwhelm me with new and useful features but there was definatly enough there to make me rethink alot of how I can work.

    The feature that impressed me the most was the updated rotoscope tool. If it works as good as they demonstrated I feel it could eliminate the need to do normal green screening.

  8. Rachel Jaffe
    September 28, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    As the comments before mine only serve to illustrate, the Adobe Day (an occasion tentatively earmarked (but not yet claimed) for card manufacture en masse by the Hallmark Co.) representatives were hugely informative as to the virtual smorgasbord of software updates showcased in CS5. Though I’ve not yet splurged for an at-home copy, I have no doubts that I will eventually — and that the Adobe presentation would have played no small part in my persuasion. The accolades heaped upon the by-now-notorious Roto Brush are laudations with which I can’t help but agree; the puppet tool is, similarly, one to which I was recently introduced (and by which I was resoundingly impressed). Somewhat disappointingly, I find myself thoroughly unable to generate any yet-unstated praise for Adobe’s new suite* — instead, I suppose I’ll just have to perform the equivalent of verbal nodding and, smilingly, agree that CS5 affords animators (and live-action filmmakers alike) a greatly enhanced degree of control over their work. May digital artists the world over unite; Adobe CS5 is a tool that, gripped in the right hands, never ceases to chisel out genuine chunks of (animated) artistry.
    Now, I suppose, I finally have to master After Effects.

    *The Roto Brush has me shocked speechless, you see. Words escape me.

  9. Javier Barboza
    September 28, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    The abode presentation demonstrated grate new tool that will be useful in our films. What I especially enjoyed was how you are able to jump from CS5 freely thought the programs, cutting production time in half. The new premier is looks very useful, I’m a final Cut user, but willing to learn premier, see what the hype all about.

  10. Lisa Chung
    September 29, 2010 at 2:42 am

    My eyes literally lit up when I saw the video attribute in the new CS5 Photoshop. What a great addition to this already impressive program. As an animator, this will be an efficient tool for rotoscoping without importing each individual frames. Even better, I can export these rotoscoped frames under one PSD file, which Premiere will automatically recognize as a video extension. Not only will this cut down production but also editing time. A project like this would have taken a good week for just a 30 second animation. With these new tools, I would estimate a day or 2 for completion. Another stunning feature is probably the rotobrush feature in After Effects. I understand that this doesn’t replace green screening but essentially would allow for that type of work on old footages where green screen was not originally used.

  11. Jordan Hansen
    September 29, 2010 at 10:12 am

    It’s great that adobe is such an enthusiastic company and that they listen to their end users’ requests. I’m glad for all the new strengths of their existing tools. I like that rendering is no longer the first step in premiere. I wish they would have spent more time talking about animation related tools, like flash for instance, or even more time in after effects. I know there have been some tremendous changes in both of those software packages too, that it would have been nice to touch on. I’m not sure what to make of the bit about stereoscopic 3D. Yes, it is very interesting to be able to shoot live action stereoscopic for around $1500-$2000 but again, it would have been nice to learn more about what use those tools would have in an animation setting.

    I am very glad adobe came and that they are listening so closely to what their end users want. They new tools from the presentation are very exciting and I feel like the path adobe is taking with their software suite is a wise one. In addition to what they mentioned in their presentation, I have found a number of new features that are really useful. Overall, I am impressed with the new package and adobe’s response to their user base.

  12. September 29, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Having worked with the challenges of editing raw Canon footage in Final Cut, it was amazing to see how CS5 is capable of playing raw footage outright. This is a big problem with editing footage from the RED, from the Canon 7D and 5D, etc. on many platforms, and it is a big step forward that Adobe has found such a successful way of working with raw footage. One thing I’ve heard is that Apple doesn’t seem to be taking large steps in research and development to make FCP work well with these raw files, and I think this could feasibly lead to them losing a large market share because of the growing market for cameras shooting high quality raw footage. (We will see what they decide to do!) I was also impressed by the capability for CS5 to use the power of the computer efficiently. This was an inspiring seminar in terms of revealing technological advancements!

    • September 29, 2010 at 10:19 am

      – Laura Cechanowicz

  13. Ryan
    September 29, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Adobe day was fine. It would have been good for them to have known they gave almost the same presentation 4 months ago to us. Since it was during the animation Seminar it would have been nice to have focused more on the animation aspects of the software. That said Adobe is a way of life for us all, we eat, sleep, drink, Adobe, I may name my first child Adobe or at least CS the 5th (if he is sponsored). It is always helpful to see the new features of the programs the stereoscopic side of things still feels week and not user friendly or feasible but Premier seems to be making itself a very viable part of editing. All and all a 2 hour infomercial to get students interested in there package so that they will make it a part of their workflow once professionals, making life long consumers, they are as good of a business as the product they are selling with some nice new features I am sure I will be using often and forever, I look forward to the next edition and seeing what is up there sleeves.

  14. Louis Morton
    September 29, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    It was great to hear about the new features in Photoshop. It will be exciting to see how tools such as the content aware fill will raise the bar for the quality of work that can be produced in all disciplines. The puppet tool is also a very useful trick for animators, and I’m very excited to experiment with it more. I also enjoyed hearing about the new features in After Effects, such as the roto-tool. I wasn’t as into the 3D part of the lecture. I thought a bit too much time was spent on this very specialized area, and the cameras and software add-ons were more than I could afford to spend to get into this kind of work. I also would’ve really liked it if they had touched on the new features in Illustrator and Flash. Illustrator has a great new feature for drawing in perspective, and a new art-boards feature for organizing your illustrations. I would’ve liked to hear if they had improved on the 3D and bone tool features from Flash CS4. All of these tools I feel are incredibly useful for animators to learn.
    Overall I really appreciate how Adobe reaches out to their customers and are constantly striving to make a better product. When I lived in San Francisco, I went to many Adobe user group days, and they always seemed genuinely concerned with the needs of the user, and were dedicated to make their products better based on user requests. As technology improves, the software can always get better, but as long as Adobe continues to listen to their users I think they will continue to make great products.

  15. Juan Camilo González
    September 29, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    It was all impressive and I can see myself using some of the new tools and software improvements. I did miss a presentation on Flash and how they are approaching the web as platform for animators and filmmakers. The presentation was directed for the live action creator mainly. I feel interest on creating content that can benefit from the distribution possibilities of the Internet. Being able to create flash websites from the encore projects seem like a nice tool but I bet adobe is taking more serious plans for this area. With stronger competitors for flash like HTML5 and others, things will just get better.

  16. Shaun Kim
    September 29, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    New functions of updated software always make artist happy, especially the automatic rotoscoping tool was interesting for me. However, most of the introducing parts in adobe CS5 was same contents to the last semester’s seminar. All things considered, files sharing among photoshop, AfterEffect, and Premiere in PSD file is pretty convenient boosting work flow faster.

  17. Eric Tortora Pato
    September 29, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Well, everyone’s said just about everything there is to say about adobe, so I don’t feel I have that much to add, save for this useful consumer tip: If you, like me, run or plan on running a dual os (OSX and Win7) workstation at home or at the office, do not buy CS5 yet. The current packages only include mac or pc software, and the dual system release won’t happen until mid October. This means that if you buy either version now, and then soon find yourself working with the other OS (even on the same machine) you’d have to buy the entire package a second time. Just a little tip, but that (and saying that content aware fill is neat) is all I got.

    • Sheila
      September 30, 2010 at 12:17 pm

      Thanks for the tip Eric!

  18. Maria Sequeira
    September 29, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Adobe’s presentation was a great reminder of the breadth and scope of the tools available in the CS5 suite. Like others have stated, it would have been nice if they they had focused on animation-specific workflow and programs like After Effects and Flash. I’m also intrigued by Dan’s comments on using Photoshop to simplify the texturing process in Maya. Adobe has shown that they continue to push the bar in terms of the program’s functionality for artists.

  19. Miguel Jiron
    September 29, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    It’s interesting to see how much technology is influencing media these days, and how aggressively fast it’s constantly refining itself. It’s dizzying just to see how powerful these tools have become in relatively such a short time. The power these programs give to the everyday consumer is going to be probably the most influential and game-changing aspect of today’s media… it’s hard to think of another time in history where so much innovation has occurred in such a fast period of time. The possibilities of playing with stereoscopic video are incredible… I can’t wait to see experimental work playing with this new technology.

    I also really appreciated Adobe’s attitude with their customers, hearing out suggestions and complaints and responding to them seriously. It seems like they’re very attentive, for being such an influential company. They’re constantly raising the bar and creating the new standard for digital media tools, always pushing the envelope, and to have such a good customer relations? Well, it feels like it’s okay for Adobe to be dominating the digital tool market.

  20. Burak Kurt
    September 29, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    I’m really impressed with the CS5 suite and I feel like it’s the first real update since CS2 with the depth and amount of changes made. Adobe has already made themselves indispensable at this point and helped lots of artists flourish. It’s great to see new innovations and tools to make the work flows smoother. As for the seminar however, like other people pointed out, was almost a repetition of the demo they made in spring and I would like to have seen more animation work flow examples this time. The stereo-rig they introduced, though interesting and affordable, was uninteresting to me as the cameras didn’t seem to any live feed of any kind or viewfinders other than the laser pointers if I got it right.

  21. Matthew Steidl
    September 29, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    “Adobe Day” is definitely the right title for the event – and it was an event, not just a seminar. My first impression of the seminar was that it was a repeat of the material covered last semester, but then I remembered that it is an outgrowth of our school’s relationship with Adobe, and what a great service they provide for us. Furthermore, we have faculty that are capable of teaching these programs to us, which is a great boon – I was talking to a friend of mine who goes to Calstate Long Beach (who also went), and he said that they have the full suite, but the teachers stick mainly to Photoshop. The whole event made me feel at the center of everything, which is a good feeling.

  22. Allen Yau
    September 29, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Adobe CS5 has a lot of improvements and I’m interesting in as well as exciting about those new functions. Also, many new production softwares, like After Effects and Premiere Pro, take true advantage of 64-bit system, as Adobe development team rewrote these softwares. This is really a great way to utilize new technologies (and give us one more excuse to spend more money on hardwares/softwares).

    I really appreciate this kind of event, it’s always good to learn new features of softwares from experts. However, Adobe’s presentation is very similar to last semester’s Adobe showcase event. It’s a bit redundant to me. I also think they spent too much time on stereoscopic topic, I rather they talk about other features more, or at least talk about the stereoscopic functions in their software.

  23. Jovanna
    September 29, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Adobe premiered several additions to the Photoshop CS5 tool belt in Wednesday’s seminar. Of particular note was the “Puppet Warp” tool, originally an After Effects tool, which selects an element from the composition by way of a polygonal graph. Points can be jointed to create individually manipulatable segments. The demoed example was of a boy holding a flower. The flower was jointed at the stem, while the flower head was enlarged. The greeting card industry will never be the same.

  24. Justin Connolly
    September 30, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    What can I say about Adobe Day? Well, I personally was disappointed with Adobe’s presentation since, as several of my cohorts have mentioned, we already had the exact same demonstration a few months ago. The only addition to their demonstration was the talk about low budget stereoscopic camera set up, which I personally was not impressed with due to the lack of depth in the final output and the lack of practical focus. I can see how this relatively affordable technology is a great way to start working quickly in stereo, however, I feel that the set up is better suited to live action and doesn’t really offer any practical applications for animation. I realize that Adobe has made some amazing improvements to their software in CS5 and in doing they have made themselves indispensable to animators, but I would have loved to hear about some of the great new features that we as animators can use.

    That being said, the new content aware fill feature in Photoshop is AMAZING! I have been using this feature to remove the rigs from my stop motion footage and it has made my life much easier. Thank you Adobe Gods!

  25. Brandon Lake
    October 5, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    There were many new and exciting additions to the adobe package that really made me happy during the Adobe Day presentation. The changes to Photoshop and the ability of the many programs to run simultaneously and with the ability to easily transfer data between them relieves many of the headaches I would usually have with the programs I currently run. My main qualm with the presentation was that it seemed to be aimed towards a different audience than myself. I was hoping for more of an in-depth look at Flash and AfterEffects, being that they are programs we are more likely to use in our current classes, instead of a somewhat lengthy discussion of RED(?) cameras and Stereoscopic technology. Nor that I’m not interested in either, but I felt they glossed over the programs that I find most useful.

  26. Amy Lee Ketchum
    October 12, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I am convinced that Adobe is purposely holding back on their users when they come out with new versions. Adobe CS5 is a huge evolution from CS4. I feel like I just got CS4 and it is going to become totally obsolete really soon! I bet Adobe already had the technology for CS5 but wanted to save it so that we would have to buy an upgrade! Anyway, there’s no denying that Adobe has some really intelligent people working for them. I can’t wait to see what CS6 brings!

  27. November 3, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I cannot imagine CS X will come out when I graduate….

  28. Kim Cagney
    December 14, 2010 at 7:28 am

    When references are made to Arthur C. Clark’s famous quote, “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic,” I tend to bring up Photoshop’s content-aware fill. My serious respect goes to Adobe’s engineer’s for those algorithms.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

